As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks
| Machine | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|
| VEVOR Die Cutting and Embossing Machine | A4 folders plus stated felt, fabric, leather and thin metal use | Check Price on Amazon |
| CraftGenes 6 Inch Manual Die Cutting and Embossing Machine for Card Making | Beginners who want published paper and stack limits | Check Price on Amazon |
| Find Scrapblooms Die Cutting Machine for Card Making | A4 embossing with a fully itemized plate set | Check Price on Amazon |
| CraftGenes 9-Inch Die Cutting and Embossing Machine for Card Making | A4 work that has to fold away afterwards | Check Price on Amazon |
| Portable Mini Die Cutting Machine | Kids, classes and travel with small dies | Check Price on Amazon |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.Last Updated: September 2026
If your budget for a die cutting machine tops out around the $100 mark, you are shopping in crank-handle territory: no motors, no software, no subscriptions. For cardmaking that is not a downgrade. A manual die cutter is a roller press — you build a sandwich of plates, a die and paper, turn a handle, and mechanical pressure does the cutting or the embossing.
This roundup reads the published listing specifications for eight manual die cutting and embossing machines and translates them into buying consequences. Nobody here cut a sheet of cardstock. This website does not do hands-on testing, so every number below is attributed to the manufacturer or seller who published it.
Three decisions actually matter: opening width (3, 6 or 9 inches), what plates and extras arrive in the box, and whether the listing commits to a paper weight or a maximum stack thickness. Everything else is color preference.
Quick Comparison Table
| Machine | Opening | Paper size stated | What the listing says comes in the box |
|---|---|---|---|
| VEVOR Die Cutting and Embossing Machine | 9-inch (A4) | A4 sheets, 9-inch wide dies | Embossing pad, a plate, A6 embossed folder, two cutting pads, six 0.8 mm dies, ten A5 cardstocks |
| Find Scrapblooms Die Cutting Machine for Card Making | 9 inches max pass-through | A4 | 10 cardstock sheets, 2 die cuts, 1 clear stamp set, 2 embossing folders (A4 and 5x7 inch), 2x 3mm plates, 1x 2mm plate, 1x 13mm plate |
| CraftGenes 9-Inch Die Cutting and Embossing Machine for Card Making | 9-inch | A4 paper and larger | Not itemized in the supplied listing bullets |
| CraftGenes 6 Inch Manual Die Cutting and Embossing Machine for Card Making | 6 inch (A5) | A5, paper up to 240gsm | 13mm base plate, 2 B plates (2.85mm), C plate (5mm), 0.3mm plastic sheet, 2 magnetic plates (1.8mm), 2 embossing folders, 2 die cuts, 10 cardstock sheets, badge set, manual |
| 6inch Manual Die Cutting Machine Kit | 6-inch | A5 | Beginner accessories per the title; not itemized in the supplied bullets |
| Manual Die Cutting Machine for Card Making | 6-inch | Not stated | Embossing folder and cutting dies set, 1 pack cardstock, 1 set clear stamps |
| 6" Opening Paper Die Cut Machine for Greeting Cards | 6-inch | Not stated | Embossing folder and cutting dies set, 1 pack cardstock, 1 set clear stamps |
| Portable Mini Die Cutting Machine | 3 inch | 80-210gsm cardstock only | 3 mini embossing folders, dies with clear stamps, assorted cardstock |
VEVOR Die Cutting and Embossing Machine — Best for Crafters Who Want to Cut More Than Cardstock
VEVOR lists a 9-inch (A4) opening size and says the machine is compatible with A4-sized sheets and 9-inch wide dies from a variety of brands. A 9-inch throat is the one that swallows a full-size A4 embossing folder, so this is the size class to buy if you want embossed backgrounds rather than just card-front accents.
Here is the spec that sets it apart on paper: VEVOR says the foldable machine can tackle paper, felt, fabric, leather and even thin metals. Treat that as the seller's own capability claim rather than independently verified performance, and remember that the die matters as much as the press — a thin paper die is not built for leather. VEVOR also describes a metal handle (inner material) and a steel roller system, which is exactly where a crank press takes its abuse.
The bundle is itemized, and one detail is worth noticing before you buy folders. VEVOR includes an embossing pad, a plate, an A6 embossed folder, two cutting pads, six 0.8 mm cutting dies and ten A5 cardstocks. The bundled folder is A6 while the opening is 9 inches, so the included accessories use only a fraction of the machine's width.
Pros
- 9-inch (A4) opening with stated compatibility for 9-inch wide dies
- Metal handle (inner material) and steel roller system per the listing
- Listing claims paper, felt, fabric, leather and thin metal capability
- The supplied listing does not state a maximum sandwich thickness or a paper weight ceiling in gsm
- The included embossed folder is A6, far smaller than the 9-inch opening
Verdict: Buy the VEVOR Die Cutting and Embossing Machine (B0FC5ZFTSV) if you want a 9-inch opening — the widest opening class on this page, which it shares with the other 9-inch machines covered here — plus a written claim of mixed-material cutting, and you are comfortable sourcing a full-size folder yourself.
CraftGenes 6 Inch Manual Die Cutting and Embossing Machine for Card Making — Best for Beginners Who Want Published Limits
Most budget listings tell you what a machine can do. This one tells you where it stops, which is more useful. CraftGenes states a maximum sandwich thickness of 22mm and clean cuts and crisp embossing on paper up to 240gsm. Those two numbers are the difference between a confident first session and a cracked die.
The restriction is equally explicit: CraftGenes says this machine is designed for cardstock only and that you should not use adhesive-backed or laminated materials. So if your project list includes sticker sheets or laminated tags, this is the wrong press. The listing also warns that if the handle becomes hard to turn you should not force the sandwich through, but disassemble and check the stack height or realign components.
The kit is the most granular in this group: a 13mm base plate, 2 B plates (2.85mm), a C plate (5mm), a 0.3mm plastic sheet, 2 magnetic plates (1.8mm), 2 embossing folders, 2 die cuts, 10 colorful cardstock sheets, a badge set and an instruction manual. Those fractional shims are how you hit 22mm without guessing. CraftGenes notes the clear cutting plate may show light marks and advises rotating or flipping it regularly, which is normal wear on any roller press, not a defect.
Pros
- Published 22mm maximum stack thickness and 240gsm paper limit
- Ten cardstock sheets, two folders and two dies included
- Made from high-impact ABS plastic per the listing
- Cardstock only; the listing rules out adhesive-backed and laminated materials
- A5 and 6 inch, so A4 embossing folders are out of scope
Verdict: The best-documented starter kit here for anyone making standard greeting cards who wants numbers instead of adjectives.
Find Scrapblooms Die Cutting Machine for Card Making — Best for A4 Embossing With Every Plate Listed
The opening claim is precise: the maximum size this machine can pass through is 9 inches, and the listing says A4 paper passes through easily. Pair that with the included embossing folders in A4 and 5x7 inch sizes and you get a machine shipped with a folder that matches its full width.
Construction is described as high quality ABS and carbon steel, using 100% new ABS that the seller says is durable and not easily broken when dropped. Carbon steel is the relevant word there; the rollers and gearing carry the load, and plastic housings are normal in this category. The machine has a foldable design to save table space, which is the practical difference between leaving it out and shelving it.
The plate inventory is fully listed, so you can check your stack maths before ordering extras: 10 colorful cardstock sheets, 2 die cuts, 1 clear stamp set, 2 embossing folders, 2x 3mm plates, 1x 2mm plate and 1x 13mm plate. The listing spells out both recipes — embossing is 1x 13mm plate plus 2x 3mm PC plates plus the embossing folder with paper inside, and die cutting is 1x 13mm plate plus 1x 2mm PC plate plus paper plus the die plus 2x 3mm PC plates.
Pros
- 9-inch maximum pass-through with A4 sheets stated to pass easily
- Ships with both an A4 and a 5x7 inch embossing folder
- Complete plate set itemized, including the 13mm base plate
- Foldable design to reduce table footprint
- The supplied listing does not state a paper weight limit or a maximum stack thickness
- No overall dimensions are published in the supplied listing bullets
Verdict: Pick this if full-width A4 embossing is the goal and you want the included folder to actually use the 9-inch opening.
CraftGenes 9-Inch Die Cutting and Embossing Machine for Card Making — Best for A4 Projects in a Tight Workspace
The headline feature is physical, not mechanical: foldable side panels that reduce space usage when not in use. If your craft space is a dining table that has to become a dining table again by evening, that design choice outranks most spec-sheet bullets. CraftGenes describes it as designed for A4 paper and larger, with a 9-inch opening in the product title.
It is hand-cranked with no electricity needed, and CraftGenes says the crank provides consistent pressure for clean cuts and precise embossing. The stacking instructions are published in full, including one detail beginners routinely miss: for embossing, combine a 13mm plate, a 3mm cutting plate, the embossing folder and a 3mm plate, and set the embossing folder back 1 cm. For die cutting the listing specifies a 13mm plate plus a 3mm plate plus a 2mm plate plus paper plus the die plus a 3mm plate.
One gap to go in with your eyes open about: the supplied listing bullets describe the plate combinations but do not itemize a bundled set of cardstock, dies or folders. Confirm the current bundle contents on the product page before you assume it is a complete starter kit.
Pros
- Foldable side panels for storage in small workspaces
- Stated for A4 paper and larger
- Manual operation with no electricity required
- Both embossing and die cutting stacks published step by step, including the 1 cm folder setback
- The supplied listing bullets do not itemize included dies, folders or cardstock
- No paper weight or maximum stack thickness is stated
Verdict: A sensible A4 choice for crafters who need the machine to disappear between sessions and who already own dies and folders.
6inch Manual Die Cutting Machine Kit — Best for Shoppers Who Already Own Dies and Folders
The useful number here is the footprint. The listing publishes overall dimensions of 12.2" x 12.2" x 6.7" with a 6-inch wide opening that accommodates A5-sized paper. That is a shelf-planning figure, not an internal capacity figure — the 6-inch opening is what governs what fits through.
Compatibility is the selling point: the listing says it works with most standard die cuts and embossing folders available on the market. The inner construction is described as carbon steel. The listing also claims a longer using life than most other machines, a comparison it does not substantiate, so I would set that aside entirely and judge it on the published stack recipes instead: embossing uses 1x 13mm plate plus 2x 3mm PC plates plus the folder with paper inside, while die cutting uses 1x 13mm plate plus 1x 5mm PC plate plus paper plus the die plus 1x 3mm PC plate.
The product title refers to beginner accessories, but the supplied feature bullets do not itemize what those accessories are. If the bundle is the reason you are buying, verify the contents on the listing first.
Pros
- Published footprint of 12.2" x 12.2" x 6.7" for shelf planning
- 6-inch opening sized for A5 paper
- Carbon steel inner construction per the listing
- Stated compatibility with most standard die cuts and embossing folders
- The supplied bullets do not itemize the beginner accessories named in the title
- The listing's "longer using life than most other machines" claim is not substantiated
Verdict: A reasonable A5 workhorse for a crafter with an existing die stash who cares more about compatibility and footprint than about what ships in the box.
Manual Die Cutting Machine for Card Making — Best for 6-Inch Cardmaking With Onboard Storage
The 6-inch opening is described as ideal for standard cardmaking and scrapbooking sizes, which is honest framing: 6 inches covers A5 and card-front work, not full A4 backgrounds. For most people making A2 or 5x7 cards, that is the right trade.
Two design features carry this listing. First, a foldable handle that folds down to keep the machine compact and easy to store. Second, a platform cover that lifts open to reveal a hidden storage compartment for frequently used dies, mini embossing folders, tweezers and paper scraps. Thin metal dies are exactly the supplies that vanish, so integrated storage is a genuinely practical feature rather than a bullet-point filler.
The starter contents are stated: a standard embossing folder and cutting dies set, 1 pack of cardstock and 1 set of clear stamps. The listing says it cuts and embosses a wide variety of materials but does not name those materials or publish a gsm range, so treat paper and cardstock as the supported use and confirm anything thicker with the seller.
Pros
- 6-inch opening sized for standard cardmaking and scrapbooking
- Built-in storage compartment under the lifting platform cover
- Foldable handle for compact storage
- Ships with an embossing folder, cutting dies, cardstock and clear stamps
- The listing's "wide variety of materials" claim is not backed by a stated gsm range or material list
- No paper size, dimensions or stack thickness figures in the supplied bullets
Verdict: Good fit for a card maker with a small desk who wants dies stored inside the machine instead of scattered across a drawer.
6" Opening Paper Die Cut Machine for Greeting Cards — Best for Greeting-Card Work With Built-In Die Storage
This one is specified identically to the 6-inch model above in the supplied listing data, right down to the phrasing. Same 6-inch opening described as ideal for standard cardmaking and scrapbooking sizes, same foldable handle, same hidden storage compartment under the platform cover, and the same starter contents: an embossing folder and cutting dies set, 1 pack of cardstock and 1 set of clear stamps.
So the honest guidance is to treat these two as interchangeable on specifications and let current price, color and availability break the tie. There is no published figure in the supplied listing data that separates them on capability — no dimensions, no gsm rating, no stack thickness on either.
What you are buying is a greeting-card-scale press with 2-in-1 die cutting and embossing and somewhere to keep your dies. For a first machine aimed squarely at A2 and 5x7 cards, that is a coherent package.
Pros
- 6-inch opening aimed at standard greeting card and scrapbook sizes
- Hidden storage compartment keeps dies and mini folders with the machine
- Foldable handle keeps the stored footprint down
- Embossing folder, dies, cardstock and clear stamps included
- No dimensions, paper weight or stack thickness published in the supplied bullets
- Specified identically to the other 6-inch model here, so there is no spec-based reason to prefer one
Verdict: Buy whichever of the two identically specified 6-inch models is cheaper or in stock when you are ready.
Portable Mini Die Cutting Machine — Best for Kids, Classes and Travel
The 3 inch opening is the whole story, and the seller is refreshingly direct about it. The listing includes an explicit note telling buyers to check the size first, because the opening diameter is 3 inches, and to choose a 6 inch or 9 inch machine instead for larger dies or embossing folders. Believe that warning. Most dies sold for cardmaking are wider than 3 inches.
Within its lane it is well matched to the job. The listing states it is only applicable for cutting 80-210gsm cardstock and is unable to cut materials such as cloth, leather and plastic sheets. That is a narrow but clearly drawn capability window, and 80-210gsm covers typical text weight through medium cardstock. The build is described as ultra-lightweight and foldable, easy to store in a tote bag or backpack for crafting events, classes or vacation.
It ships in a full-color gift box, which the seller positions as presentation-ready — relevant if this is a present for a child rather than a tool for your own studio.
Pros
- Clearly stated 80-210gsm cardstock range, so there is no guesswork
- Ultra-lightweight foldable design for travel and classes
- Three mini embossing folders, dies with clear stamps and cardstock included
- Built-in storage compartment for thin metal dies
- 3 inch opening rules out most standard-size dies and embossing folders
- Cannot cut cloth, leather or plastic sheets per the listing
Verdict: The right gift for a child or a travel companion for small tags and accents — not your main cardmaking press.
What to Look For in a Budget Manual Die Cutter
- Opening width first. A 3 inch opening only takes small dies, which is why one listing here explicitly tells buyers to move up to 6 inch or 9 inch for larger dies and folders. Six inches covers A5 and standard card fronts; nine inches is what accepts A4 sheets and 9-inch wide dies.
- A published paper limit. Only some listings commit to one. CraftGenes publishes paper up to 240gsm for its 6 inch machine, and the 3 inch mini specifies 80-210gsm cardstock. A stated range tells you whether your favorite heavy cardstock will cut cleanly.
- A maximum stack thickness. The 22mm maximum stated for the CraftGenes 6 inch kit is the single most useful number in this category, because over-stacking is what jams a press and snaps dies. The same listing tells you not to force the sandwich through if the handle gets hard to turn.
- The plate inventory, not just "complete kit". Itemized plates let you check the recipe before ordering shims. Find Scrapblooms lists 2x 3mm plates, 1x 2mm plate and 1x 13mm plate, and CraftGenes lists 2.85mm B plates, a 5mm C plate, 1.8mm magnetic plates and a 0.3mm plastic sheet.
- Whether the included folder matches the opening. VEVOR's kit pairs a 9-inch opening with an A6 embossed folder, while Find Scrapblooms includes both an A4 and a 5x7 inch folder. That difference decides whether you need to buy a folder immediately.
- Storage design. Foldable side panels, a folding handle and a built-in compartment for dies are the features that determine whether the machine stays accessible in a small room.
- Material claims, read literally. "Cuts a variety of materials" means nothing without a list. VEVOR names paper, felt, fabric, leather and thin metals; the mini explicitly excludes cloth, leather and plastic sheets. Scope matters more than enthusiasm.
How We Research
This page is built from documentary evidence only. For each machine we pulled the Amazon Creators API verified product record and read every product listing feature bullet the seller publishes, then compared those bullets against each other on the attributes that actually change outcomes: opening width, stated paper size and weight, plate inventory, stack thickness and storage design. All records were retrieved on 9 September 2026.
Where a listing makes a comparative or promotional claim without a figure behind it, we flag it rather than repeat it. Where a listing omits a spec, we say it is not stated instead of assuming the worst value. No machine on this page was operated, measured or disassembled by anyone on this site, and no laboratory was involved.
Two public resources are worth bookmarking independently of any listing. The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission publishes consumer product safety information and recall notices, and USA.gov maintains consumer protection guidance if a purchase goes wrong.
Recommendations by Use Case
For A4 embossed backgrounds: Find Scrapblooms Die Cutting Machine for Card Making. It states a 9-inch maximum pass-through with A4 paper passing easily, and its listing itemizes an A4 embossing folder alongside a 5x7 inch folder, so the included accessory actually uses the full width.
For a documented first machine: CraftGenes 6 Inch Manual Die Cutting and Embossing Machine for Card Making. The published 22mm maximum sandwich thickness and 240gsm paper ceiling, plus 1.8mm magnetic plates and a 0.3mm plastic sheet for shimming, give a beginner real numbers to work to.
For mixed materials: VEVOR Die Cutting and Embossing Machine. Its listing is the one that commits in writing to paper, felt, fabric, leather and thin metals, alongside a metal handle (inner material) and steel roller system.
For a folding A4 footprint: CraftGenes 9-Inch Die Cutting and Embossing Machine for Card Making, which pairs foldable side panels with a stated design for A4 paper and larger.
For a child or a craft retreat: Portable Mini Die Cutting Machine, with its stated 80-210gsm cardstock range, three mini folders and gift-box packaging — accepting that the 3 inch opening caps die size.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the difference between a 6-inch and a 9-inch opening? Opening width sets the largest die or folder you can run. A 9-inch machine is specified for A4 sheets and 9-inch wide dies, while a 6-inch machine is specified for A5 paper and standard cardmaking sizes. Buy 9 inches if you want full-page embossed backgrounds; 6 inches is enough for A2 and 5x7 cards.
Can one machine both cut and emboss? Yes — these are 2-in-1 presses, and you switch jobs by changing the plate stack. Find Scrapblooms, for example, publishes an embossing stack of a 13mm plate plus two 3mm PC plates plus the folder with paper inside, and a die cutting stack of a 13mm plate plus a 2mm PC plate plus paper plus the die plus two 3mm PC plates.
What paper weight can a budget manual die cutter handle? It depends on the model, and only some listings say. CraftGenes states clean cuts and crisp embossing on paper up to 240gsm for its 6 inch machine, and the 3 inch mini is specified for 80-210gsm cardstock only. Where no range is published, ask the seller before committing to heavy stock.
Do I have to buy dies and embossing folders separately? Usually not for your first projects. The Manual Die Cutting Machine for Card Making (B0GH7RFVDP) lists an embossing folder, a cutting dies set, 1 pack of cardstock and 1 set of clear stamps. The 6" Opening Paper Die Cut Machine for Greeting Cards (B0GHM6DT6M) lists the same contents. The CraftGenes 6 Inch Manual Die Cutting and Embossing Machine for Card Making bundles 2 embossing folders, 2 die cuts and 10 cardstock sheets. The 6inch Manual Die Cutting Machine Kit (B0CQG8WFJ7) does not itemize its accessories in the supplied bullets, so check its product page before assuming dies or folders are included. Check whether the included folder matches the opening size — VEVOR's bundled folder is A6 even though the opening is 9 inches.
Is a 3-inch mini machine enough for cardmaking? For small accents and tags, yes; for typical dies, no. The mini's own listing tells buyers to choose a 6 inch or 9 inch machine if they want to use larger dies or embossing folders, because the opening diameter is 3 inches.
What about the Sizzix Sidekick starter kit price? The Sizzix Sidekick is a popular name in this size class, but it is not one of the machines covered on this page, so we are not going to quote specifications or a price for it. Compare its current listing directly against the opening width, paper weight and plate inventory criteria above before deciding.
Final Verdict
If I had to pick one machine from this group on the strength of its published specifications, it would be the CraftGenes 6 Inch Manual Die Cutting and Embossing Machine for Card Making — because it is the only one here whose listing gives you a 22mm maximum stack thickness and a 240gsm paper ceiling, plus the 2.85mm, 1.8mm and 0.3mm shims to hit those numbers, which is precisely the information a first-time crank-press owner needs to avoid jams and broken dies. Check Price on Amazon
If you already know you want A4 capacity, go to Find Scrapblooms Die Cutting Machine for Card Making for its 9-inch pass-through and included A4 folder, or VEVOR Die Cutting and Embossing Machine if the felt, fabric, leather and thin metal claim matches your project list. Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon
And be realistic about the 3-inch class. It is a gift and a travel tool, not a replacement for a 6-inch press, and the seller says as much in its own listing note.
Sources & Methodology
Nothing on this page was cut, cranked, stress-tested or measured here — this website runs no lab and does no hands-on testing, and it would be dishonest to imply otherwise in a category where a jammed sandwich or a snapped die is the real risk. What we did do is read the Amazon Creators API verified product record and the full set of product listing feature bullets for each machine as retrieved on 9 September 2026, then line the published attributes up against each other: opening width, stated paper size and gsm, maximum stack thickness, plate and shim inventory, and storage design.
That approach is well suited to manual die cutters, because the variables that decide whether a machine fits your dies are dimensional and published. It cannot tell you how smoothly a particular handle turns after a year, how consistent the roller pressure stays, or whether a given unit arrives true — for those, read recent buyer feedback on the listing itself and keep the return window in mind. Where a seller makes a comparative durability claim with no figure behind it, we have left it labelled as the seller's claim rather than treating it as evidence.